Avocado and Citrus Salad

Like most people these days, I’ve been trying to prepare healthier meals for my family. But with a five-year-old and a twenty month old it can be hard to find things that are healthy, yummy and visually appealing, because let’s be honest, kids seem to decide whether or not they want to eat something way before the food hits their tongue.

Avocado Citrus 1I found the inspiration for this recipe on Martha Steward Everyday Food and decided to give it a try. It’s bright and fresh and a nice side when you’re pairing it with a heavier main like beef. Truth be told my husband and I have become strangely addicted to this salad and we’ve been eating it at least once a week. I know you’re thinking, a salad of grapefruit and orange? Why? But there something about the tart and sweet mixed together with the creamy avocado that’s beyond amazing. Try it and you’ll see. I made some substitutions from the original to suit my kids tastes.

Avocado and Citrus Salad

  • 2 Grapefruits (segmented, peel and pith removed) Juice reserved for dressing
  • 2 Navel Oranges (segmented, peel and pith removed) Juice reserved for dressing
  • 2 Avocados cubed
  • 5 Radishes sliced thin (When they’re large enough to handle I like to use a vegetable peeler)
  • 1 carrot shredded
  • 2 green onions, sliced thin
  • Drizzle of Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a medium sized bowl. Toss together. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

What can I say, I like my recipes tasty and simple! We’re all busy and tired after a long day. It’s nice to have a quick, healthy and easy recipe to turn to once in a while.

Tip: Sometimes when I feel like I need a bit more of a bite I add a splash of balsamic vinegar!

Leave a Reply

