Eggs en Cocotte (Baked Eggs in a Ramekin)

I love eggs. I can enjoy them pretty much any way they’re prepared. Although I draw my line going all “Rocky” with the raw energy drink.

Quiche, strata, scrambled, hard-boiled, soft-boiled, deviled, omelet…I could go on but I can tell I’m already losing you! BUT WAIT! I’ve got an easy recipe I know you’ll be adding to your weekend menu in no time.

Apartment Therapy/The Kitchn is to blame for my latest egg-related obsession.

Eggs en Cocotte

The creamy golden yolk is heaven on a buttered toast soldier. I’ve been trying to convert my kids from the same old, but this is one argument I haven’t won yet. They just look at me like I’m nuts and dig back into their own plates of fluffy scrambled eggs.

One day they’ll understand and they’ll be begging me to make this and I’ll say NO! You should have tried it when I asked you the first thousand times. Heh. Just joking. Of coarse I’ll make it for them, might as well. I’ll be eating them too. Enjoy!

Eggs en Cocotte (Baked Eggs in a Ramekin)
From The Kitchn

This dish is sometimes called baked eggs or shirred eggs, but all the recipes are generally the same. You butter a few small ramekins and sprinkle the bottom with a little cheese. Then break one or two eggs (how ever many fit) into each ramekin without breaking the yolk. Top the eggs with a spoonful of cream, some salt and pepper, and another sprinkling of cheese. Set the egg-filled ramekins in a bain marie and bake in a 350° oven until the whites are set but the yolks are still loose.

We like to eat our eggs en cocotte with plenty of buttered toast that’s been cut into strips. These are perfect for dipping into the yolk and scooping up the egg whites. If we’re serving these at a brunch, we make a big plate of toast to pass around!

Now and again, we like to mix things up a bit and add a few more ingredients to the eggs. A bit of crumbled bacon on the bottom completes the breakfast trifecta. We also like chopped tomatoes, caramelized onions, cooked mushrooms, or any other favorite vegetable. For the cheese, gruyere is traditional, but don’t let that stop you! It’s very very hard to go wrong when it comes to baked eggs!

Leave a Reply

