Halibut – Braised with Carrots, Onions and Celery

Fish night, one of the most dreaded nights of the week in my house. Well, okay, lets say of the month. Fish is a hard sell over here.

Halibut

The salmon I make is too fishy, the cod is fishy and too dry, and the trout is “okay”. Sigh. The word everyone wants to hear after a long day of work, picking up the kids and sweating over the stove while trying to stop my two boys from ripping the house to shreds. Or even better, “It’s good I guess, but I wouldn’t make it again.”

But there’s hope. I found an easy to prepare recipe that my family finally loves. If you have finicky fish people in your family, hopefully you’ll have as much luck with this recipe as I did.

Just as a note, I sometimes reduce the amount of fish to 4 fillets as 6 is too much for us. Both my husband and I have a strict “no microwaving fish” policy where we work. Leftovers would sometimes end up going to waste, so I started to make a smaller portion to begin with.

Halibut – Braised with Carrots, Onions and Celery
Adapted from Robin Miller, Food Network

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 6 (6-ounce) halibut fillets
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped carrots
  • 1/2 cup chopped onions
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 3 to 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 lemon, cut in to wedges

Directions

Heat oil in a large saucepan or Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Season halibut with salt and pepper. Add halibut to hot pan and cook 2 minutes per side, until golden brown. Remove halibut from pan and set aside. Be careful flipping over and removing the halibut as it’s very tender and flakes easily.

To the same pan, add carrots, onions, celery, and garlic. Add a bit more olive oil if necessary. Sauté 3 minutes, until soft. Return halibut to pan and add wine. Simmer 1 minute. Add bay leaves and broth and simmer 10 minutes, until fish is fork tender. Remove from heat.

I like to serve the halibut on a bed of rice with some of the broth ladled over top. Serve with a wedge of lemon, the juice brightens up the halibut nicely.

2 thoughts on “Halibut – Braised with Carrots, Onions and Celery

  1. I’m always on the look out for new fish recipes and this one is really different from anything I have in my repetoir. Must try it!

Leave a Reply

