Ice Cream and Icing

I had a plan for today’s post, but as usual I found a way to throw a wrench in there. I wanted to post about icing. And not just any icing…Cream Cheese Icing.

But nope, I was tempted by a “One-Minute Microwave Cookie” recipe. I HAD to have it. The temptation was just too much, a warm tender chocolate chip cookie in one minute! Seriously? How can anyone resist.

I tried the recipe twice. Yes, I’m that stubborn. The first time, it looked like this:Cookie 2

I know what you’re thinking, and yeah, that is one failure of a cookie. I figured I must have done something wrong, because if anyone could screw up such a simple recipe it’s me.

Okay, it was back to square one, this time the “batter” came out even worse. So I added butter (lol, yes, the solution had to have been add more butter right?)

Try number two came out only slightly better, but at least this one looked edible. I scooped up a morsel, closed my eyes and…hmm, not bad at all. Definitely tasted buttery.

Cookie 0

So with two failed attempts I made the only possible addition that could save this dish. Ice Cream. It just makes everything better doesn’t it? Bad day at work? Gotdumped? It’s Wednesday?

There’s always a reason to turn to a little pint of Haagen Dazs Pralines and Cream. All of a sudden, it didn’t matter that I had a hideous (questionably cooked) cookie in front of me. The combination of hot “cookie” and cold ice cream was just too good to resist. And yes I ate the whole thing. Don’t judge me! I deserved it. After all, it is Wednesday 😉

Cookie 1

Okay, since you didn’t get something usable with my cookie fiasco, I’ll still pass on my favourite icing recipe:

I don’t know about you, but this is the only thing capable of getting me to eat carrot cake and that’s saying a lot.

Cream Cheese Icing
From The Canadian Living Test Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1 8 oz (250g) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup (60 mL) butter, softened
  • 1/2 tsp (2 mL) vanilla
  • 1 cup (250 mL) icing sugar

Directions

In bowl, beat cream cheese with butter until smooth. Beat in vanilla. Beat in icing sugar, one-third at a time, until smooth. Spread over top of cake. (Make-ahead: Cover loosely and refrigerate for up to I day.)

6 thoughts on “Ice Cream and Icing

  1. Hey, pass along that one-minute cookie recipe too. Who cares what it looks like! If it takes a minute to make and a minute to eat, who’s going to care that it ain’t pretty? LOL Certainly not me! 😀

Leave a Reply

