A Little Scattered Today

These toes. I’ve munched on them at least a hundred times today. There are about twenty items on my todo list today and they’re all important.

Only, I’m not working on any of them. Instead I’ve been cuddling my twenty-month old. He doesn’t know why and while he giggles most of the time he’s getting to that “Mommy, stop with the kisses, I want to play with my truck.” place.

Last night too. I read my older boy his bedtime stories. Same as every night but this time with a few more hugs at the end. Until finally between cuddles and squeezes I heard “Mommy, it’s time to get papa. I have to tell him goodnight.”

There’s so much to take care of today, but I can’t. I just keep thinking about yesterday. That little boy waiting at the finish line to hug his dad. My heart hurts.

16 thoughts on “A Little Scattered Today

  1. Toe kisses beat work – hands down. My heart aches for the father of that little boy. It’s times like these we cherish that which is most important. Toe kisses top the list.

    • Thanks Suzie. It’s just so sad. I feel like we can’t go a week without hearing about another tragedy. Give your loved ones some extra sugar tonight…or doggie treats πŸ˜‰

  2. We all hugged our loved ones a little longer last night, I think you did exactly as your heart dictated and it is more important than any work you may have to do. My heart breaks for the families in Boston,

  3. I have seen the photo of that poor family torn apart in Boston. I did the same as you last night, giving an extra hug to my little ones. Hopefully those poor people will be brought to justice soon. I really like your writing style. You have a lovely blog!

Leave a Reply

