Naan and Whatever Is Left In My Fridge

Naan and Pulled PorkOkay, I’m having one of those nights. I’m hungry. I’m not sure what I’m in the mood for. It’s the end of my (grocery) week and I have no clue what I’m making for dinner. I’m sure most of you have experienced this before. It’s like doing your groceries on an empty stomach. Never a good idea. You always come back with five frozen pizzas, a massive jar of Nutella, some insanely sugary cereal and whatever else you happened to walk by.

Once again, I’m saved by one of the blogs I’m following. This time my thanks goes to Go Bake Yourself. She happened to review an Indian restaurant she recently visited. Looking at all the tempting photos of her food I stalled on the one of the Naan Bread. No joke, my brain seriously said “Mmmmm…Naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan.” That’s what happens on an empty stomach, people.

I thought, “Oooh! I have some on my counter!” And then, “What the heck do I put on it?” Because although I probably would eat it on the couch while watching television, my family seems to want something more substantial.

Sigh. Fine. *Rustles through freezer* How happy am I to find a freezer bag of pulled pork? Ecstatic, because my workload just dropped by ninety percent. Woo! By the way, I make my pulled pork in the exact same way, seasonings and all, as my blade roast.

The great thing about this kind of meal is that you can replace the meat with almost anything you like. Shredded chicken breast, sliced steak, hell I’d go to far as to say grilled and sliced Portobello mushrooms. Why not? Check your refrigerator, you’ll be surprised what you can come up with when you’re hungry enough πŸ™‚

So here’s the big recipe today, I listed the ingredients the way I layered them from bottom to top. Adjust the quantities based on how many sandwiches you need to make.

Pulled Pork on Naan Bread

Ingredients

  • Naan Bread
  • Sour Cream
  • Guacamole
  • Pulled Pork or Shredded Chicken or Sliced Steak, etc…you get where I’m going with this πŸ˜‰
  • Carrots, shredded
  • Cheddar (or your preferred cheese), grated
  • Green onions, sliced
  • Wedge of Lime, optional

Directions

Pile everything on one side of the bread, squeeze a bit of lime juice on top, fold over and enjoy.

19 thoughts on “Naan and Whatever Is Left In My Fridge

  1. I seen her post too and all the food looked so good. I agree with you on the bread, to bad the family wants something more…lol! πŸ˜‰ Your idea is very good and creative! It looks so good. You’re right too, you can find lots of different things to come up with when you’re hungry πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

