Paper Wrapped Corn on the Cob

This is more of a helpful tip than a recipe, but I think it’s worth sharing. My kids love corn on the cob. Yes it’s really simple to make, but honestly, sometimes I feel like it takes so long. Waiting for the water to boil, then another ten minutes to cook.

I’m probably being ridiculous, but there are days where every minute counts and I’d much rather spend my time eating than cooking.

This quick steam technique gets the food on the table in four minutes. The best part, they don’t even have the time to ask, “Mom, is it ready yet?”. Doesn’t get better than that! Well, for me anyway 😉Paper Wrapped Corn

Paper Towel Wrapped Corn on the Cob

First, pull the husk and silk away from the cob, but don’t break it off at the end. Return the husk and silk back in place before wrapping the individual corn in paper towel. Make sure its completely covered with the ends tucked in so the corn steams inside the husk.

Microwave for four minutes.

Be careful when opening the package. The steam gets trapped inside, releases quickly and can burn your fingers. I use the papertowel to grab the husk and pull it away. I can’t say it enough, this gets really hot.

Season with butter and salt and you’re done!

7 thoughts on “Paper Wrapped Corn on the Cob

  1. Similar to what I do although I put them in the microwave just as they come from the farm stand. After microwaving, all the silks come off right with the husks.

Leave a Reply

