Quesadillas

I love sandwiches. And really, aren’t quesadillas just a flat sandwich? If you ask me, they’re the best kind. Hot and gooey on the inside, crisp and salty on the outside. Especially along the edges where the cheese escapes and browns a little in the pan. I always eat that bit first.

My favourite way to make these is in a frying pan with butter, but I do try to make healthier choices when I can. So here’s an easy and healthy option for baking the quesadilla that will save you some calories but still give you the crispy and gooey combination that makes this dish so good.Quesadilla 2

I usually use leftover roasted chicken, but sometimes I use thinly sliced breaded chicken breast for the kids.

Quesadillas

Ingredients

  • Tortillas (I use whole wheat)
  • Roasted Chicken, shredded
  • Cheddar, grated (or cheese of your choice)
  • Green Onions, sliced
  • Sour Cream
  • Guacamole and salsa for dipping

Directions

Preheat oven to 375° degrees.

Quesadilla 1

Place one tortilla on a parchment paper covered baking sheet.
Top with sour cream, cooked chicken, cheddar, green onion.
Lay remaining tortilla on top.

Place a second layer of parchment paper then another baking sheet on top of the assembled quesadilla. Use a weight to help press it down. I use my dutch oven.

Bake for 10-15 minutes or until heated through and cheese is melted.

Cut into wedges and serve with sour cream, guacamole and salsa.

7 thoughts on “Quesadillas

  1. These are a staple in my California home. Once I had some left over salmon and I tossed it in a quesadilla. It was delicious.

Leave a Reply

